Related FAQs
How do I enable chat on my challenge?
Enabling Team Chat is a great way of boosting teamwork, camaraderie and sportsmanship in your challenge. It allows teams to talk to each other directly within the challenge website and app. Team Chat is disabled by default but can be enabled when creating a challenge or at a later date via your admin area.
Should I enable team chat?
While we think that most organisers will see the benefits of enabling team chat on their challenge, there are a few important things to consider before doing so:
- Enabling chat will allow your participants to send text and image (optional, see below) messages to each other within their teams.
- We do not actively monitor chats and it would be your responsibility to take any action required if messages are flagged as inappropriate.
- Our Terms and Conditions include an Acceptable Use Policy section which all participants have agreed to and any misuse of the system may result in us having to ban or block users.
We hope that everyone will follow the rules and use the chat feature in a friendly manner, but it's important to be aware of the extra content moderation responsibilities that you may have to deal with if you choose to enable chat.
You can optionally choose to allow your participants to upload photos to chat. This may bring with it an extra level of moderation/privacy concerns, so please think carefully before enabling this feature.
Things to know
Some things to know once you've enabled team chat:
- Team chat becomes enabled for a team as soon as the team has been created (ie. even before the challenge begins).
- Team chat closes for all teams 7 days after the challenge ends (no more messages can be sent).
- Messages are auto-deleted after 30 days for privacy and data security reasons.
- If a message is reported, you have 30 days to review it before it is auto-deleted.
How to enable team chat
You can enable Team Chat either when creating your challenge or at a later date.
During the challenge creation process the system will ask you if you wish to enable chat.
Can we send news and updates to participants during our challenge?
Yes. Big Team Challenge includes an ‘updates’ feature which enables the administrators of the challenge to send out messages to all participants via the website, mobile apps and via email, keeping them informed of the general progress and any other issues they may want to raise.
The challenge administrators can choose to also send out push notifications to app users to further highlight the updates, with these messages being viewable from within the app. If you prefer to use your own email communication system, your Big Team Challenge admin website includes the option to export users to a csv file, including each user’s registered email address for importing into your third party systems.



